How do I activate a new FLEXnet Floating License on the Geneious Floating License Manager?

If you are using the Geneious Floating License Manager and have upgraded your floating license and received a new license key, you can install it as follows:

Open the Terminal (mac and linux) or Command Prompt (Windows) and use the "cd" command to navigate to the Geneious Floating License Manager installation directory.

Run the commands shown below with administrator privileges.  To do this on Windows you must open the Command Prompt as an administrator by right-clicking on the Command Prompt icon and choosing "Run as Administrator". 

To release your old key off the server use the command:

floatingLicenseManager -release
[-proxyHost <proxy host> -proxyPort <proxy port>]
[-proxyUserid <proxy userid> -proxyHost <proxy userid>]
(Note the proxy settings are optional - if you do not use a proxy server then do not use these options)

Then apply your new key using the command:

floatingLicenseManager -activate -activationID <activation ID>
[-proxyHost <proxy host> -proxyPort <proxy port> [-proxyUserid <proxy userid> -proxyPassword <proxy password>]]

 (Again, the proxy settings are optional - if you do not use a proxy server then do not use these options)

Replace <activation ID> with your license key.

Note that on macOS and Linux, the commands must be prefaced with "sudo":

e.g. for MacOS/Linux

sudo ./floatingLicenseManager ...

 

To ensure that the new license is served after it is activated, restart the license server (please refer the Geneious Floating License Manager User Guide for the appropriate commands for your operating system).

For example, on Windows run the two commands:

sc stop geneiouslm
sc start geneiouslm

 

Ideally all Geneious users should quit prior to performing the above procedure.  However, if any users are connected to the FLM when the above procedure is performed they will not be affected by the update, as Geneious should pick up a new seat served under the new license when it checks in with the restarted FLM. 

If there is a delay in restarting the FLM with the new license the Geneious clients may revert to restricted mode.  However, any running operations will still complete and save.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments